Getting started with WMB Toolkit 6.0.2

Part of the swathe of new releases in the SOA space just before Christmas was a major new version of the WebSphere Message Broker Toolkit – 6.0.2 (release details). I started looking at the update today, and thought I’d let readers in on some of the new features.

First of all, installation. I was already running version 6.0.0.2 of the toolkit. I chose the option to download the update as a zip file, and then used the Rational Product Updater to install it. As I mentioned, this is a significant update with a number of new features, so the update did take a little while to install. Be sure to follow the correct set of upgrade instructions, which you will find linked from the release details link above.

Once the update process was complete, I went ahead and started the toolkit, with a fresh workspace. Once I closed the familiar Welcome page, I was presented with the (now-renamed) Broker Development perspective.

Broker Development view

The new-look Broker Development view provides some options to make a faster start with your development tasks. These are somewhat similar to the Quick Start wizard that was introduced in the 6.0.0.2 release of the toolkit (see my previous blog entry over on my personal weblog for more on that). In version 6.0.2 the range of quick start options has been improved. Among other things, there is now a “Start from WSDL” wizard that will help to get started developing a flow that will consume or provide Web Services capabilities.

Also note the drop-down selection for “Active Working Set”. Working sets are an Eclipse feature that allow us to group together a number of related resources. Say my workspace contains 30 or more projects of various types, but I’m just working on a small part of the overall development project that only requires a couple of message sets, a flow project and maybe a single Java project: I can create a working set to contain those resources, and then filter the view to show me just the projects I need.

I thought I’d dive right in, so I clicked on “Start from WSDL and/or XSD files”.

Quick start wizard

Once I’d provided some simple parameters – just the name for my new flow project – the tooling was able to populate the names of the new flow file, message set and working set. I could have changed them manually, but decided that the default names were fine.

I then needed to choose a WSDL file to import.

WSDL selection

In previous releases I would have had to import the files into a project before I could do anything with them (import them into a message set). This time, I can choose to take them from anywhere on my filesystem, and the wizard will import them for me.

To complete the wizard, I just needed to choose the binding and which message types (schema definitions from the WSDL) I wanted to use. Once I’d done that, the new working set containing my message set and a blank message flow was created.

 Tip about dragging and dropping WSDL files

Once the wizard was complete, I was told that I could drag and drop a WSDL file into the flow editor (see the Tip screenshot above). So, I grabbed my chosen WSDL file from the new message set project, and tried it dragging it over to the flow editor.

This is what happened next:

Oops, IA9O is not installed

Oops. Looks like I need to add something!

While I’m here, just a quick note about the layout of the flow editor palette in version 6.0.2. Take a look.

Flow editor palette What we can see here is that the different categories of node are now grouped into their own “drawers”. In previous releases, you had to scroll up and down the list to find what you needed. The only sections of the list that were in subsections were the ones where a SupportPac or custom third-party node had been installed. Now, everything is categorised so that you can just open the sections of the list that you need. Note the Favorites section at the top – you can add your most commonly-used nodes in there so that they are always easy to find.

More to come. In my next post I’ll pick up where we’re leaving off, and talk about SupportPac IA9O

Technorati tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Andy Piper
Work at: Twitter; Interests: Clouds | IoT | Open Source | Community | LEGO; Views: my own

4 Responses to Getting started with WMB Toolkit 6.0.2

  1. Pingback: More on WMB Toolkit 6.0.2 « The lost outpost

  2. Pingback: protocol7 » Blog Archive » links for 2007-01-06

  3. Pingback: custom broker

Leave a Reply

